• Dee

Trex- Christyne Morell


This middle grade mystery follows the adventures of a boy with an experimental brain implant, and a reclusive girl training to be a spy, as they're pitted against school bullies, their own parents, and an evil, brain-hacking corporation. Perfect for fans of Stranger Things.


Trex’s experimental brain implant saved his life—but it also made his life a lot harder. Now he shocks everything he touches. When his overprotective mother finally agrees to send him to a real school for sixth grade, Trex is determined to fit in.


He wasn’t counting on Mellie the Mouse. She lives in the creepiest house in Hopewell Hill, where she spends her time scowling, lurking, ignoring bullies, and training to be a spy. Mellie is convinced she saw lightning shoot from Trex’s fingertips, and she is Very Suspicious.


And she should be. . . but not of Trex. Someone mysterious is lurking in the shadows. . . someone who knows a dangerous secret.


My Review: A truly exceptional and catchy book for children and adults alike. Following the story from multiple points of view, it presents the adventures of a young boy with an experimental brain implant. Having special powers and dealing with a not-so-friendly medical company is where similarities with Stranger Things end, but the plot is unique on its own. It will appeal to children who feel like they don't belong and to readers of detective stories, while diving into heavier subjects such as living with a mental illness, death, and adoption. The skilled author managed to create a plot that is not easily predictable, with twists and turns, and at times suspenseful. The relatable characters and their adventure make for a highly recommended middle grade book.


Publisher‏: ‎ Delacorte Press (August 30, 2022)

Language: ‎ English

ISBN-13: ‎ 978-0593433249

Reading age: ‎ 8 - 12 years


Digital review copy provided by Delacorte Press @ NetGalley